- Determining which account should be kept when merging multiple accounts
Many new Site Admins do not realize their site is set up syncing with AD or on SSO so they attempt to create accounts manually.
Often the account to keep will be one that has never been logged into.
Typically one of the accounts was created by an Active Directory (AD) Sync or it was created automatically when a user attempted to log in via Single-Sign-On (SSO) and the other(s) done manually. You have to figure out which one was created by a sync since that is most likely the one to keep.
New accounts (new usernames for existing people as well) should also appear in the recently created users page of the site. The recently created account would be the account to keep assuming it was created from the AD sync.
You can test the accounts in training to see which one is the real AD account but only if the account was created prior to the last infrastructure rebuild of the sites.
- Search for the user by last name. At times the first name of a user in Active Directory or other sources is different than in PolicyStat if an account was manually created so be sure to search for duplicate accounts by more than just first and last name. Sometimes searching by just first name can identify duplicate account possibilities.
- Locate the account which has the username that should be kept. Deactivate any account that should not be used. If accounts with the same username exist, keep the account that was most recently logged into. Deactivate those that should not be kept.
- Once accounts are deactivated follow the instructions in this article to merge the accounts.
How do I Transfer Responsibilities or Merge Duplicate User Accounts?