To remove an outdated or no longer required active policy from public view, PolicyStat provides three options: Restrict Visibility, Retire, or Delete.
- Restricting visibility removes a policy from the ability to be viewed by general users, users with elevated privileges can still see it. For more on restricting visibility, see the article here.
- Retiring the policy removes it from the system, but it can be returned to the system at a later time if it is found to be necessary. Only Site Administrators may reinstate a retired policy.
- Delete the policy from the system entirely. This action is not reversible, and the policy is permanently removed. Only Site Administrators may delete a policy from the site. For more on this process, see this article.
The option to retire is ONLY available for active approved documents.
Retire A Policy (00:36)
Retiring a Policy
- To retire a policy, click the Retire link in the bar on the top right of the policy.
- Provide a rationale for why the policy is being retired (1), then click the Retire Policy button (2).
- The policy is now retired.
If the policy was retired on accident, a Site Administrator can "unretire" a policy. For more on the process, see the article here. If a Site Administrator would like to remove the ability for Owners to retire, see this article.
This article applies to the following user roles: