We’ve received feedback from some of our customers that they would like document owners to be always asked for approval whenever the document is updated. Some customers have been able to achieve this behavior by creating dozens of nearly identical approval workflows, with one step different. Frequently this is the first step, but could be any step within an approval workflow. That approval workflow is then used on documents where at least one of the steps also matches the document owner.
Starting today, you may now optionally configure an approval workflow to require the document owner’s approval in any step, even multiple steps, with other users, or by itself.
- Simplifies approval workflow management by reducing the number of in-use approval workflows.
- Gives document owners control over revisions.
- No more missed first-step approvals; if you’re the owner and you make a change, your approval is automatic.
One-click approval for document owners
Document owners who create or edit a document are provided with a new button, “Start Approval Process and Mark My Approval” which will simultaneously submit the document and approve it. If the document still requires additional approval, those users are notified.
Faster approval workflow deletion
We anticipated that this new feature would allow our customers to reduce the number of approval workflows they need to manage. Consequently, we’ve also made it significantly easier to delete approval workflows.
The Delete Approval Workflow page interface has been updated to include a form to allow for one-click replacement of the workflow with another workflow in all documents that use that approval workflow. This operation previously required manually overriding each document individually.
How do I enable the option to require the document owner's approval in an approval workflow step?
This feature is being rolled out to customers over the next several weeks. If you want to start using this feature early please email PolicyStat Support and we’ll prioritize your access.
How do I migrate my existing approval workflows?
When the feature is enabled for your site, you will see an in-product notification on the Home page.
Your existing approval workflow templates will remain exactly the same as they were before the release of this new feature.
The option to require the document owner’s approval in an approval workflow step will be available when you create or edit an approval workflow. For editing existing approval workflows, the option is disabled by default for all steps.
See this guide for details on how you may be able to reduce the number of approval workflow templates you have to manage by requiring the document owner’s approval in specific steps.
Send Us Your Feedback!
We want to make your workflow management easier by giving you the ability to require the document owner’s approval at any step. We’d love feedback on how we could improve. If you have ideas or feedback for us, we’d love to hear from you.