Migrating your existing approval workflows [updated]

Kyle Gibson -

Note: This article has been superseded by this updated article.


We recently started rolling out a new feature to our customers to make approval workflow management easier. If you are seeing an in-product notification on your Home page then this feature has been enabled. For details on this new feature, please see this announcement.

If this feature is currently enabled for your site, your existing approval workflows may require certain users to mark their approval more than once.

For example, consider a document owned by Bob that is configured to use an approval workflow consisting of Bob followed by Dave. With this feature enabled, the above two-step approval workflow would now consist of three-steps:

  1. The document owner (Bob)
  2. Bob
  3. Dave

Bob’s first approval would occur automatically following the creation or edit of the document. He would still be required to manually mark his approval a second time before the approval workflow will advance to Dave.

To prevent this behavior, a new approval workflow could be created that consists of the document owner followed by Dave:

  1. The document owner
  2. Dave

Then, all of the documents which use the previous approval workflow may be updated to use this new one.

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments