User Account Updates: Transfer Responsibilities/Merge Duplicates

-

If a user with elevated responsibilities leaves your organization, it may be necessary to deactivate their user account and transfer responsibilities to another user. 

NOTE: If a user is leaving on a temporary basis (e.g. - medical leave, leave of absence, etc.) but will return, a proxy user can be assigned so the user's account will remain active. For more on how to assign a proxy user, see this article. For the proxy user's perspective on being a proxy, see this article.

By transferring responsibilities to a new user, the new user's name will appear in upcoming Approval Workflows and as Owner of all active policies for which the old user had previously authored or managed. 

If need to simply transfer responsibilities, a temporary deactivation will suffice. Complete the transfer, then restore/reactivate the account.    

To merge duplicate user accounts, read the explanation here. 

Transfer User Responsibilities (01:48)

NOTE: Viewing the tutorial requires Adobe Flash Player. For assistance, please contact your IT department.

  

==================================================

Transferring User Responsibilities

  1. Click the Admin tab on the header row anywhere in PolicyStat. 
    adminTab_area.png

  2. Locate Users from the Site Data list.
    siteDataUM_area.png

  3. Click the Deactivate link at the end of the table for the the "old" user (Careful -- this action is not reversible!).


  4. Click the Deactivate User button.


  5. Enter the name of the user who will take over the inactive user's responsibilities (1).

  6. Click the Transfer Responsibilities button (2).

==================================================

Merge Duplicate Accounts

Transferring responsibilities occurs between two different users when one user takes over responsibilities from another. The new user's name will replace the the old user's name in all pending and active documents going forward. Old/archived versions owned by the old user and historical actions by the old user will still display the old user's name.

Merge users if two accounts were accidentally created for the same person. Merging affects ALL historical actions, so it would be as if the old account never existed.

  1. Click the Admin tab on the header row anywhere in PolicyStat. 
    adminTab_area.png

  2. Locate and click Users from the Site Data list.
    siteDataUM_area.png

  3. Click the Deactivate link at the end of the table for the the "old" user (Careful -- this action is not reversible!).


  4. Click the Deactivate User button.


  5. Click the merge duplicate accounts link.


  6. Enter the name of the user to merge with (1).

  7. Click the Merge Users button (2).

==================================================

This article applies to the following user roles:

siteAdmin.png

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments